Northumberland County Economic Development


Government Resources

Interior of large meeting room with lots of windows

Northumberland County Council is comprised of the mayors of each of the seven local municipalities within its boundaries. 

The head of County Council is called the Warden and is elected annually from amongst its membership. Meeting monthly, council is an effective and efficient decision making body.

 Listed below are some links to various levels of Government that affect this area:


Elected Officials

Lou Rinialdi M.P.P Northumberland-Quinte West
Kim Rudd M.P. Northumberland-Peterborough South

Federal & Provincial Government Entities

The Government of Canada
The Government of Ontario

Local Government

Alderville First Nation
Township of Alnwick/Haldimand
Municipality of Brighton
Town of Cobourg
Township of Cramahe
Township of Hamilton
Municipality of Port Hope
Municipality of Trent Hills

Alderville First Nation  Alnwick/Haldimand  Brighton  Cobourg  Cramahe  Hamilton Township  Port Hope  Trent Hills



Getting financing is the most challenging aspect of starting or growing a business. If you are looking for money for your business, you should start by learning about the different types of financing that are available. You can then decide which one best suits your needs.


Economic Development Master Plan

Northumberland County Official Plan

2016 Business Plan

2016 Budget

2015-2019 Strategic Plan